|       HOME        |        REVIEWS       |       GAMES        |       STREAM        |        CONTACT       |

Hunter and Titan from Destiny 2 prepare to fight
Hunter and Titan from Destiny 2 prepare to fight

Destiny 2 – First-Time Player’s Guide

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Destiny 2 – First Time Player’s Guide

Having been released back in September of 2017, Destiny 2 has come a long way with three story expansions and the introduction of the Annual Pass. Now, starting out in this game can be a little daunting with the onslaught of information you receive, from a whole range of classes and sub-classes to choose from to an arsenal of weapons and armor. To minimize some of the confusion, stay tuned for hints on how to best get into the game, if you haven’t touched Bungie’s MMO/FPS hybrid ever before.

Booting up Destiny 2 will immediately give you a taste of the game’s RPG elements with the menu inviting you to create your character. You’ll have three options for your class, which will affect your style of play and your subclass abilities. Titans are essentially the tanks of Destiny 2 since they’re resilience is the highest of the three using barricades to withstand damage while a Warlock’s strength lies in their magic rift abilities which allow players either to heal or increase attack power. Completing the triad, Hunters are the most mobile of the group with their dodge class ability, allowing players to recharge attacks and reload weapons on the move. You can also have some fun with your Guardian by altering their appearance without having any influence on the actual gameplay. If you’re unsure about your RPG class preference, or just want to try out something new, Destiny 2 allows for multiple character saves, so you can play around with the different classes in the starting missions and find what works for your play style.

Titans, Warlocks, and Hunters each have three unique subclasses to go along with their class abilities. These can be sorted into void, arc, and solar energy abilities, although you’ll only begin with one subclass at the beginning of your game, and will have to level up to unlock the other two. Each subclass includes a grenade, a melee power, and a class ability, which all have their own passive effects and cooldown times. On top of this trio lies the super ability, which is the most devastating of all your skills and recharges painstakingly slowly overtime. Killing enemies will speed things along, and picking up orbs of light, when they are generated by other Guardians, will also grant a boost to your ability meter. Once charged, press F to pay respects to the enemies you’re about to demolish.

Destiny 2 features two different leveling features that are quite simple to understand, but are worth going over in case you haven’t come across them in your gaming career. The first system is your stock standard gain experience by killing things to level up, while the second system is known as power level. Every piece of equipment has a power level, which is shown in the top left corner when you hover over the item. Your overall power level can be seen around your Guardian’s head when you’re swapping out your gear. Focusing on increasing your power level is integral to the game since you’ll need to reach a minimum to participate in certain game modes. When playing through the story, often you’ll find weapons that suit your play style or just make killing enemies a hell of a lot of fun. Although you’re better off equipping higher leveled gear, even if they’re a little lackluster to use, you can always hold onto your favorite weapon and upgrade it later on in the game. With the latest expansion Forsaken, the power level cap is 650, which can be a grind to reach. But Destiny 2 does include a heap of endgame content to keep you entertained, so find the modes you like to play and get shooting.

Hunter from Destiny 2 unleashes Golden Gun super ability

As you explore the various planets in Destiny 2, you’ll come across loot nearly everywhere you go. Dismantling weapons and armor will give you resources, such as Glimmer and Gunsmith Materials, which can be used at vendors. But it’s worth holding onto different types of guns, even if they’re a little lower than your power level. Why is that? Because when you collect bounties, often they’ll request a certain type of weapon, such as a sniper rifle or pulse rifle, to complete. Bounties can be obtained from vendors at the Farm when you’re first going through the story mode, and later will be found at the Traveler once you’ve finished the base game. These bounties usually expire after 24 hours and most are only relevant for game modes such as the Crucible, so only grab them when you’re planning to participate in those activities. Don’t worry too much if you don’t manage to complete them, they only cost a small amount of Glimmer and won’t have any negative effects on your character. Each planet also has characters you can visit to obtain bounties that are unique to that area meaning you can complete story quests while working on these bounties.

Just like with most massive multiplayer games, playing with your friends is a whole different experience compared to riding solo. Whether it’s taking down a boss, banding together at the Crucible, or participating in public events, having a teammate next to you makes Destiny 2 feel like a totally different (and better) game. Finding a clan or beginning your own is a good place to start, and you’ll receive weekly rewards just for being part of one, even if you weren’t able to contribute. For those who don’t have any IRL friends to play with, guided games allow single players to participate in team-based endgame activities, such as Raids and Nightfall Strikes – you never know, you might even meet some friendly folks who’ll invite you to their clan.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] Destiny 2 First Time Player’s Guide […]